Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

ENV 295 Course Guide

Professor Irene Bohman

Fall Term 2006, Tuesday & Thursday AB

Prepared by Mary Abdoney, Science Librarian

Research in Environmental Studies requires that you take an interdisciplinary approach, exploring science, politics, economics, culture, etc. all at the same time. 

Following is a list of resources that are useful for Environmental Studies research:

Reference Books

Great for background information

The encyclopaedic dictionary of environmental change

GE10 .E534 2001 Science Reference

The environment A to Z

GE10 .H67 2001 Leyburn Reference

Environmental literature : an encyclopedia of works, authors, and themes

GE35 .E58 1999 Leyburn 4

Environmental education in the 21st century : theory, practice, progress and promise

GE70 .P33 1998 Science Reserves

Pollution A to Z

online resource

Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences

online resource

Little Green Data Book

online resource

Annual Review of Environment and Resources

online resource

Literature Databases

Search for scholarly literature that is published in journals and magazines, and use the WebBridge button webbridge to get full-text access from W&L.

JSTOR

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

Scopus

AGRICOLA

LexisNexis Academic

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)

Grey Literature

A wealth of valuable informtion exists outside of the scholarly publishing industry.  Technical reports, statistical data, white papers, factsheets, theses, correspondence, patents, and internal reports are just some examples of grey literature.  The following resources are divided by focus.  Sometimes the search engines are slow, but the information in these resources is highly specialized.

General Environmental Studies

EarthTrends

EPA National Publications Catalog

National Library for the Environment

NEPIS (National Environmental Publications Information System)

International Institute for Environment and Development

EnviroLink.org

UN Environmental Programme Country Profiles

Wildlife

AnimalConcerns.org

FishBase

ReefBase

FrogWeb

DuckData (USGS)

Invasive Species Information Node

Climate & Atmosphere

EPA Climate Change

Clean Air Data and Maps

Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center

Water

EPA WATERS

EPA Water Pollution

Chesapeake Bay Grey Literature

Marine and Ocean Science ePrints Archive @ Plymouth

Repository@NOAA (no longer available)

Pollution and Toxicity

Environmental Contaminants Encyclopedia

IRIS (Integrated Risk Information Systems)

HazDat

EPA/OPPT Chemical Fact Sheets

Repository@NOAA (no longer available)

Economics and Politics

National Center for Environmental Economics

Worldbank Environmental Resources

UN Division for Sustainable Development

EarthTrends Economics, Business and the Environment Database

EconPapers

FirstGov

Education

EE-Link (Environmental Education on the Internet)

Education-Line

EPA Environmental Education

Other Grey Literature Clearinghouses

GrayLit Network

OAIster

ePrint Network

Library of Congress Environmental Studies eResources

science.gov: Environment and Environmental Quality Resources

AccessUN

Back to Environmental Studies Research Guides

Find: