Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Finding Articles
Sociology 228 -- Race and Ethnic Relations

To find out which periodicals are available at W&L in printed or online form, check this guide.
Items not available at W&L may be acquired via interlibrary loan.


 

BROAD COVERAGE OF MAGAZINES AND SOME SCHOLARLY JOURNALS

Excellent starting place.  Articles in a wide range of publications, including popular, news, and opinion magazines, as well as major academic/scholarly journals.

Academic Search Complete

Over 9,000 popular and news magazines and major academic journals.

 

SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES AND RELATED MATERIALS

These databases specialize in locating articles and other materials in scholarly/academic sources, including sociology journals.

JSTOR

A digital archive of the most important scholarly journals, but without the most recent 3-4 years.

Sociological Abstracts

Covers major (and minor) social science journals and related materials.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Coverage of over 500 journals on "emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods."

AnthroSource

Major anthropology journals and related materials.

Annual Review of Sociology

Annually-published overview/synthesis of important topics in the study of sociology.
There also are "annual review" series in psychology and other fields.

Human Relations Area Files -- World Cultures

Full-text resources (articles, books, essays) on hundreds of racial and ethnic groups.

PsycInfo

Covers the professional/scholarly literature of psychology.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International

Very important international index to articles, books, and other materials on public policy and social policy. You will find items here that you do not find in any other index.

PolicyFile

Reports, papers, and other documents found within the Web site of important "think tanks" and research institutions.

America: History and Life

The only database devoted to coverage of North American history, including political science, history, and area studies journals.

Historical Abstracts

The only database devoted to coverage of non-North American history, including political science, history, and area studies journals.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Coverage of mass media and communications journals.  Particularly useful for racial/ethnic issues in mass media.

Find: