Economics 399 - Research Guide
Basic Research Tools
- Managing your citations - RefWorks (Registration Instructions, Tutorial and Quick Start Guide)
- The New Palgrave: a Dictionary of Economics (REF HB61 .N49 1987)
- The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law (REF K487.E3
N48 1998)
- The New Palgrave Dictionary of Money & Finance (REF HG151 .N48 1992)
Don't overlook the Library Catalog in your research!
Use
Keyword searching
to find books on your topic.
- Start with basic resources when possible, such as subject encyclopedias and economic handbooks
- Books: pay attention to the subject headings listed bottom of Annie Records to find similar books. (ex.)
- Journals: search by the title of the journal, not by the title of the article. Annie will not contain records for individual articles. Use an index to find articles on a topic. (ex)
Journal Articles
- EconLit published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature, including journal articles, working papers, books, articles (chapters) in collective works, and dissertations.
- Scopus - Described as the largest citation-and-abstract database in the world, Scopus offers excellent coverage of economic journals. Scopus also functions as a citation-indexing tool.
- ProQuest Research Library is designed to support undergraduate research in the arts and
humanities, social sciences, natural and physical sciences, and other
areas.
- JSTOR provides access to the full text of articles in over 150 of the most important academic journals. All issues of each journal are included EXCEPT for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
- Other sources for economics research
- Other Sources listed by subject
- Finding the articles
- Use the Periodical Finder. This is a listing more than 13,000 periodicals available in full-text form through online subscription services, such as Lexis-Nexis, and also includes titles of journals available in one W&L's libraries (with links to Annie (the W&L library catalog) so you will know where to find the journal.
- Search for the title of the Journal (not the article) on Annie.
- Get the article through Interlibrary Loan.
Working Papers and more
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.
- Fed in Print - A comprehensive index to Federal Reserve economic research.
- National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) working papers
- RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components.
- Country Profiles and Risk
- Google Scholar This is a beta version search engine.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
- OAIster (Open Archives Initiative) "harvests" collections of digital resources from nearly 300 academic and research-related institutions, now totaling over 3 million items.
It focuses on materials (reports, studies, other documents) created at respected academic and research institutions.
- Policy File is an electronic database indexing research and publication abstracts addressing the complete range of public policy research. PolicyFile draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers.
- Other Academic search engines
Internet Resources -- Searching the Web
Help with Internet Directories and Search Engines