Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

East Asian Studies -- Guides and Resources

Research Guides

The Japanese Tea Ceremony. Research guide in conjunction with the Japanese Tea Room located in the Watson Pavillion.  Contact Professor Janet Ikeda (EALL) for questions about the tea room.

 

Reference Sources

Bibliography of Asian Studies Bibliography of Asian Studies
SouthEast Asia: a Historical Encyclopedia SouthEast Asia: a Historical Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of modern Asia Encyclopedia of modern Asia
Companion encyclopedia of Asian philosophy Companion encyclopedia of Asian philosophy
Background Notes (country profiles) Background Notes (county profiles)
Journal of Asian Studies  (periodical)
Journal of Asian Studies (periodical)
Japan only
China only
Kodansha encyclopedia of Japan Encyclopedia of contemporary Chinese culture
Encyclopedia of contemporary Japanese culture Encyclopedia of China : the essential reference to China, its history and culture
The MIT encyclopedia of the Japanese economy The Cambridge encyclopedia of China
 

Useful Internet Resources

NewspaperDirect PressDisplay (Leyburn subcription). Includes daily online newspapers from China, Japan, Singapore, Thailand, Philippines, SouthKorea.
 
Maps and Geography -- Contemporary
 
PAIR: Portal to Asian Internet Resources. Maintained by the University of Wisconsin.

Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library (ANU). Excellent specialized subject guide to web resources, edited by Dr. T. Matthew Ciolek, professor of Social Sciences at the Australian National University. To search the entire WWW Virtual Library, or browse it by subject, click here.
Yahoo Links to Asian Studies
Best Sites on Asia (Harvard)
Asia-Links: Linking the World to Asia
Asia Society
Association for Asian Studies

Japan-specific:

Japan Statistics, from the Japanese Information Network.
JPOLL , the only comprehensive database of Japanese public opinion data.
Japanese Business Information Links.
Access: The Database of Japanese Universities.

China-specific:
 
Libraries and Library Resources for Chinese Studies, from the China WWW Virtual Library Internet Guide for China Studies at the University of Heidelberg.
China Institute

Journals

Electronic Journals Register. List of E-journals maintained by EAS WWW Virtual Library
Journals in Asian Studies (Yahoo)
Road to East Asia Literary Magazine

Business

The Asia Pacific Management Forum

Language and Literature

World Language Pages: JAPANESE
World Language Pages: CHINESE
Japanese Resources
Chinese Resources
 
W&L Department of East Asian Languages and Literatures
 
W&L Program in East Asian Studies