Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

Image Databases

This is a selection of databases of art historical and photographic images. Please be aware that restrictions on use apply in all cases. For a directory with places that sell slides and digital images, see Image Buyers' Guide: An International Directory of Sources for Slides and Digital Images for Art and Architecture (REF N4039 .I53 1999)  in Leyburn Library.

Please note: links to sites that our library does not subscribe to may be outdated.

To find the correct URL, please search Google.

 

ARTstor. Art image database, containing hundreds of thousands of images. Includes Washington and Lee's teaching collection of images, and the Irish Studies images.

Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1150-1750), currently containing over 6,000 reproductions. Biographies, commentaries, guided tours are available. Free postcard service is provided for the visitors.

San Francisco Fine Arts Museum Imagebase
Over 60.000 digitized images from its collection are available for viewing. You can search the "imagebase" by keyword.

The WebMuseum
From Paris, this site gives access to thousands of art historical images.

OCAIW: Orazio Centaro's Art Images on the Web - Home Page
Collection of art images presented on the Web. Over 13,000 links to
images of architecture, painting, photography, and sculpture.

Artcyclopedia
The definitive guide to great art online, at art museum sites and image archives worldwide.
Can be browsed by:  Movement,  Medium, Subject, Nationality.

ArtSource

CHRISTUS REX

private, non-profit organization dedicated to the dissemination of information on works of art preserved in churches, cathedrals and monasteries all over the world. They intend to assemble a collection of images that will constitute a visual representation of the Bible, ad maiorem gloriam Dei! (for the greater glory of God!) The Vatican collection comprises over 1200 images, and they have started building the data base for a world wide tour of churches and monasteries, comprising in excess of 5000 images.

Artchive
At the Artchive, the only constant will be change. Each gallery will include new material for your return viewing pleasure, from new scans in the Recent Acquisitions gallery, to additional art criticism excerpts, to new installations of feature exhibits.

The Great Buildings Collection
You can search for a particular building, architect, or place. Limited information and images are available. This is the free website that advertises the CD-Rom product by the same name. One nice thing is that you can download software from this page to see a 3-D model of the building.

ARLIS/NA : Image Sites and Sources for Art and Architecture (Guide to the World Wide Web)
Contains a compilation of image databases, collected by the Art Research Libraries. Very helpful guides included.

Saskia, Ltd. Cultural Documentation
This is a subscription database of art historical images. Several image collections go hand in hand with art history textbooks such as Gardner, or Stokstad. At this point, W&L does not subscribe to it. However, you can see thumbnail images without subscription. Click on "Digital Images".

Eikon
Image database for Biblical Studies. Compiled by the Yale Divinity School.

S * P * I * R * O Query Form
A project of the University of California, Berkeley, School of Architecture.

Rochester Institute of Technology Image Database
RIT's online images of Medieval Manuscripts, and of the History of the Book.

The Bridgeman Art Library - a Fine Art Photographic Archive
Archive of images. Can only be viewed as thumbnails.

AICT
Art Images for College Teaching. "AICT is a royalty-free image exchange resource for the educational community."

AP Photo Archive
Leyburn Library subscribes to this image database. It is also accessable from Annie, our online catalog. The Photo Archive is an electronic library containing the Associated Press's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library. Click on "Enter the Archive".

Photo Study Collection Database
From the Getty. A work-in-progress.

Time Inc. Picture Collection
Millions of pictures, primarily to market Time-Life images to the publishing and multi-media industries, this resource can be used by anyone after registering online.

Vistas: A Searchable Database of Spanish-American Images   Maintained by Prof. Jeff Barnett.

The Archive of Early American Images. From Brown University.

Clearinghouses:

Clearinghouse of Image Databases - U. Arizona

Image Databases on the Net - Berkeley
Thorough website on all things image databases.

 

Other Links Of Interest:

Digital Library Federation
ARLIS/NA Web Site (Art Libraries Society of North America)
Art History Webmasters ASSOCIATION des webmestres en histoire de l'art