Classics 238: Pompeii
Prof. Benefiel
Fall 2007
Research guide prepared by Yolanda Merrill, Humanities Librarian
Finding Books
Annie
LC Subject search: Pompeii --> this leads to 50 subject headings for Pompeii. Good for browsing.
Keyword search: pompeii and architect* --> then check the Subject Headings at the bottom of the record.
WorldCat (catalog containing over a billion books)
You can the same search strategies as in Annie. You need to use our interlibrary loan service to borrow books we don't have.
Finding Articles
L'Année Philologique. The main index for classical research.
Humanities
Research Guide points you to databases used for research in the
Humanities. It includes information about where to find books and periodical
articles, and has direct links to specialized databases.
Periodical Finder
(help page) is a complete
listing of journals, magazines, newspapers available at W&L.
Background information
Oxford
Reference Online: Classics. Growing collection of online reference works
published by Oxford UP.
Brill's New Pauly is the most authorative encyclopedia for Classicists.This work-in-progress is the English-language edition of Der Neue Pauly , the encyclopedia of the ancient world, with a focus on Greco-Roman antiquity and its long and influential aftermath.
Pompeii Forum Project: Home Page
"The Pompeii Forum Project is a collaborative research venture that is archaeologicaly based, heavily dependent upon advanced technology, and so conceived as to address broad issues in urban history and urban design. Evidence gathered to date challenges commonly held and widely published notions about the evolution of the forum, especially during the final years of the city's life. The goals are to provide the first systematic documentation of the architecture and decoration of the forum, to interpret evidence,as it pertains to Pompeii's urban history, and to make wider contributions to both the history of urbanism and contemporary problems of urban design."
Finding Images
ArtStor, a continually growing library of art images.
How To
Define and research your topic.
Write an academic paper. Excellent introduction to researching and writing an academic paper. Created by Dartmouth College library.
Request an item on Interlibrary Loan. This W&L service will borrow books and articles for you from other libraries.
Write your bibliography. Learn to cite your sources using the MLA (Modern Language Association) Citation Style guide.
RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies
Avoid Plagiarism. Staying out of trouble.
Get Research Help