Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

Course-related research pages

French 397: Advanced Seminar

Women and the Commedia dell' Arte

Professor Radulescu

Winter 2005

Guide prepared by Prof. Merrill

 

Reference Books (shelved in reference room)

Dictionary of the theatre : terms, concepts, and analysis / Patrice Pavis ; translated by Christine Shantz ; preface by Marvin Carlson. PN2035 .P313 1998

Contemporary women dramatists / introduction by Lizbeth Goodman ; editor, K.A. Berney ; associate editor, N.G. Templeton. PR736 .C58 1994

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of world drama : an international reference work in 5 volumes / Stanley Hochman, editor in chief. PN1625 .M3 1984

Theatre language; a dictionary of terms in English of the drama and stage from medieval to modern times, by Walter Parker Bowman and Robert Hamilton Ball. PN2035 .B6 (on level 3)

Notable women in the American theatre : a biographical dictionary / edited by Alice M. Robinson, Vera Mowry Roberts, and Milly S. Barranger. PN2285 .N65 1989

Recherches sur les théâtres de France, [microform] depuis l'année onze cens soixante-un, jusques à present / Par M. de Beauchamps. Microfilm PN1619 .S7 rl.4

 

Selected Books

Many books on the commedia dell'arte and related course topics are currently checked out by professor Radulescu. The following are not checked out yet (3/1/05)

Reading the Renaissance : culture, poetics, and drama / edited by
Jonathan Hart. New York : Garland Pub., 1996.  PN603 .R38 1996

Callery, Dymphna.
TITLE Through the body : a practical guide to physical theatre /
Dymphna Callery.
IMPRINT New York : Routledge : London : N. Hern, 2001.
CALL NO. PN2071.M6 C35 2001.

AUTHOR Heilman, Robert Bechtold, 1906-
TITLE The ways of the world : comedy and society / by Robert Bechtold
Heilman.
IMPRINT Seattle : University of Washington Press, c1978.
CALL NO. PN1922 .H44.

AUTHOR Kuritz, Paul.
TITLE Fundamental acting : a practical guide / Paul Kuritz.
IMPRINT New York : Applause, c1998.
CALL NO. PN2061 .K7868 1998.

AUTHOR Leacock, Stephen, 1869-1944.
TITLE Humor : its theory and technique, with examples and samples; a
book of discovery, by Stephen Leacock.
IMPRINT New York, Dodd, Mead, 1935.
CALL NO. PN6147 .L4.

AUTHOR Gutwirth, Marcel, 1923-
TITLE Laughing matter : an essay on the comic / Marcel Gutwirth.
IMPRINT Ithaca : Cornell University Press, c1993.
CALL NO. PN6147 .G88 1993.

AUTHOR Bowen, Barbara C.
TITLE One hundred Renaissance jokes : an anthology / edited by Barbara
C. Bowen.
IMPRINT Birmingham, Ala. : Summa Publications, 1988.
CALL NO. PN6151 .B6 1988.

AUTHOR Raskin, Victor, 1944-
TITLE Semantic mechanisms of humor / Victor Raskin.
IMPRINT Dordrecht ; Boston : D. Reidel Pub. Co., 1985.
CALL NO. PN6147 .R33 1984.

AUTHOR Fry, William F.
TITLE Sweet madness : a study of humor / by William F. Fry, Jr.
IMPRINT Palo Alto, Calif. : Pacific Books, 1968, c1963.
CALL NO. PN6147 .F74 1968.

AUTHOR Pirandello, Luigi, 1867-1936.
TITLE Umorismo. English.
TITLE On humor. Introduced, translated, and annotated by Antonio
Illiano and Daniel P. Testa.
IMPRINT Chapel Hill, University of North Carolina Press [1974]
CALL NO. PN6147 .P513 1974.

AUTHOR Green, Michael Frederick.
TITLE The art of coarse acting / Michael Green.
IMPRINT New York : Limelight editions, 1987, c1981.
CALL NO. PN2095 .G68 1987.

TITLE French caricature and the French Revolution, 1789-1799.
IMPRINT Los Angeles : Grunwald Center for the Graphic Arts ; Chicago :
University of Chicago, c1988.
CALL NO. FOLIO DC149.5 .F75 1988.

AUTHOR Barolsky, Paul, 1941-
TITLE Infinite jest : wit and humor in Italian Renaissance art / Paul
Barolsky.
IMPRINT Columbia : University of Missouri Press, 1978.
CALL NO. NC1523 .B37.

Selected Journal Articles

Music and women of the Commedia-dell'Arte in the late sixteenth
century
Author: Treadwell, N Source: RENAISSANCE QUARTERLY 57, no. 3
(FAL 2004): 1091-1092

-- Note: the following book was ordered for the library on 3/2.

Music and women of the commedia-dell'arte in the late sixteenth
century (book review)
Author: DeFord, RI Source: MUSIC & LETTERS 85, no. 3 (AUG
2004): 432-434

Music and women of the Commedia dell'Arte in the late sixteenth
century (book review)
Author: Katritzky, MA Source: THEATRE RESEARCH INTERNATIONAL
29, no. 1 (MAR 2004): 78-81


Women at the windows: Commedia-dell'arte and theatrical practice in
early modern Italy
Author: Tylus, J Source: THEATRE JOURNAL 49, no. 3 (OCT 1997):
323-342 Libraries Worldwide: 1198


WOMEN AND PERFORMANCE, THE DEVELOPMENT OF IMPROVISATION BY THE
16TH-CENTURY COMMEDIA-DELLARTE
Author: MCGILL, K Source: THEATRE JOURNAL 43, no. 1 (MAR
1991): 59-69 Libraries Worldwide: 1198 LEYBURN LIBRARY

Online full text databases

Renaissance Women Online. English works only.

Women Writers Project. English and American literature.

Finding more Literary Criticism:

MLA Bibliography - most important index for literary research in journals and some books

Arts and Humanities Search - general humanities index

Annie Catalog - look for your author or title as a Subject heading or Keyword

                     - look under Subject heading  Modernism Italy Literature

WorldCat - use same search strategy as in Annie

Literature Resource Center - look for author/title and then click "Literary Criticism" tab.

And don't forget to look at the bibliographies in the back of the books/articles you find!


Do we have the journal article you need?

Check our Periodical Finder to determine if we have access to the journal you need, and if we have the date you need. If not, please fill out the Interlibrary Loan form on that page.


Research Appointments:

If you'd like to have some individual time with me to discuss ways on how to research your topic, please send me a Research Appointment request.


Writing your paper:

You can get help at W&L's Writing Center .


Writing your bibliography and endnotes:

Here are links to Citation Style Guides which show you the right format for citing sources. There is also a link to plagiarism sites from here.