Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

For God, Love, or Money: Renaissance Drama in Performance

English 299A

globe

           

  Winter 2008

  Professor Pickett

  Research Guide prepared by Prof. Merrill, Humanities Librarian

 

Background information

Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance

Oxford Companion to Shakespeare

Dictionaries and Thesauri . Includes the Oxford English Dictionary

Literature Resources from Gale - Biographies, Criticism, and much more

Magill on Literature - Plot summaries, biographies

Finding Books

Annie, the W&L library catalog

WorldCat, catalog containing millions of books and other materials.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) Full text, scanned, and searchable books.

Literature Research

MLA Bibliography. Major language and literature index to journal and book articles, published by the Modern Language Association.

Arts and Humanities Search. Searches across all disciplines in the humanities, i.e. art, music, drama, religion, etc.

Project Muse. Full text article database, strong in the humanities and social sciences.

Humanities Research Guide-- Links specialized databases in the humanities.

Medieval and Renaissance Studies Research resources at W&L and beyond.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.  Indexes articles from over 400 journals - as well as books and book reviews. 

Renaissance. Good website for Renaissance studies, maintained at Palomar College, CA

How To

Define and research your topic.

Write an academic paper. Excellent introduction to researching and writing an academic paper. Created by Dartmouth College library.

Request an item on Interlibrary Loan. This W&L service will borrow books and articles for you from other libraries.

Write your bibliography.  Learn to cite your sources using the MLA (Modern Language Association) Citation Style guide.

RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

Avoid Plagiarism. Staying out of trouble.

Get Research Help. Fill out this form if you'd like to meet with Prof. Merrill individually to discuss your research.