Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

English 299B: Religion and Love in Early Modern Drama

Professor Pickett, Winter 2006

Research guide by Professor Merrill


BOOKS

.Annie
Washington and Lee University's online catalog. Search for books, videos, DVDs, sound recordings and other materials the library owns.

KEYWORD:            -->early and modern and (drama* or play*)

                            -->criticism and marlowe

This leads to finding the correct LC Subject Heading to use:

SUBJECT HEADING: -->English Drama Early Modern And Elizabethan 1500 1600 History And Criticism.

                            -->Marlowe, Christopher, 1564-1593 -- Criticism and interpretation -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Tips:

1.Once you have the call numbers for the books you need, go to the stacks and BROWSE the books' call number area for more books on the topic.

2. Check the bibliography in the back of each book for more references.

WorldCat
A database consisting of the records of hundreds of library catalogs. WorldCat includes records and location information for about one billion books, theses and dissertations, video and sound recordings, and other materials. (Multiple records may exist for any one item.) More Details

 

ARTICLES and BACKGROUND

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
An international index to scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Materials covered include journal articles, series, monographs, and conference papers.
Coverage extends back to 1963. This database identifies refereed journal articles, and is updated ten times a year. It contains links to full text articles wherever possible. More Details
Project Muse

Full-text access to recent issues of over 220 journal titles from 37 scholarly publishers. Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and other disciplines. More Details

JSTOR
A digital archive of the most important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text EXCEPT for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher. Covers all subjects. More Details
Literature Resource Center (LRC)
Contains extensive biographical and critical information on writers, movements, and works from virtually all time periods. More Details
Magill On Literature
Very basic critical analyses and brief plot summaries of important works in the history of literature (including non-fiction works), for more contemporary book reviews, for author biographies, and for profiles of literary characters. This online resource effectively contains over 21,000 essays from over 120 volumes of reference books, including 19 Masterplots sets. More Details

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 -- from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Besides literary and historical works, the database also includes musical exercises, prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars, and many other primary resources. More Details

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

The OED is the accepted authority on the history of words in the English language. It is the most important guide to the meaning and history of over a half-million words, both past and present, tracing the meanings of these words through the use of over 2.5 million quotations, drawn from a wide range of sources. The database contains the Second Edition and additions, including quarterly updates of at least 1,000 new and revised entries. More Details

REFERENCE BOOKS IN PRINT

Concordances: Search Annie Keyword for Shakespeare and concordance*

Other dictionaries: english and drama and dictionaries

                            english and play* and dictionaries

Criticism: Shakespearean Criticsm. Vol. 1-85. Gale Research, 1984-


How to Research a Topic and Find what you Need:

Use this guide to learn the steps involved in researching a topic, and how to find what you need.

Research Appointments

If you'd like to have some individual time with me to discuss ways on how to research your topic, please send me a Research Appointment request.

Writing your paper

You can get help at W&L's Writing Center.

Writing your bibliography and endnotes

Here are links to Citation Style Guides which show you the right format for citing sources. There is also a link to plagiarism sites from here.

Modern Language Association (MLA) Style

This citation style is used by students and scholars working in the study of literature and languages.