Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

English 299B: Justice and the Law

Professor Craun

Winter 2008

Research Guide prepared by Yolanda Merrill, humanities librarian

Reference Sources:

Magill on Literature

Literature Resource Center

Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature.   REF PN669.E53 2000

Oxford English Dictionary Online

Middle English Dictionary      REF PE679.M54

Old and Middle English Literature    REF PR 255.M33

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Medieval Civilization   REF CB353.G7 1980b

Medieval Folklore: an Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends.....   REF GR35.M43 2000

ARTstor image database

Searching for Books and Chapters:

Annie - the library catalog

WorldCat - hundreds of library catalogs rolled into one

Searching for Articles:

MLA International Bibliography

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

International Medieval Bibliography Online

Arts and Humanities Search

JSTOR

Project Muse

ProQuest Research Library

more databases listed in the Humanities Research Guide

Do we have the journal you need?

Periodical Finder

WebBridge - use this link from within a database to determine if we can supply you with the full text of the article.

Interlibrary Loan

How To

Define and research your topic.

Write an academic paper. Excellent introduction to researching and writing an academic paper. Created by Dartmouth College library.

Request an item on Interlibrary Loan. This W&L service will borrow books and articles for you from other libraries.

Write your bibliography.  Learn to cite your sources using the MLA (Modern Language Association) Citation Style guide.

RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

Avoid Plagiarism. Staying out of trouble.

Get Research Help. Fill out this form if you'd like to meet with Prof. Merrill individually to discuss your research.