Prof. Braunschneider, Fall 2007
Guide prepared by Yolanda Merrill, Humanities Librarian
Research Appointments
If you'd like to have some individual time with Yolanda Merrill and learn more on how to use certain databases, or how to best research your topic, please send me a Research Appointment request.
| .Annie search tip: do a keyword search for "moll flanders", and combine with another key term. Include quotation marks to search Moll Flanders as a phrase. Or do a keyword search for: english fiction 18th century (without quotation marks). | |
| Washington and Lee University's online catalog. Search for books, videos, DVDs, sound recordings and other materials the library owns.
Once you have the call numbers for the books you need, go to the stacks and BROWSE the books' call number area for more books on the topic. Also, check the bibliography in the back of each book for more references. WorldCat search tip: do a keyword search for "moll flanders", and combine with another key term. Include quotation marks to search Moll Flanders as a phrase. Hundred of library catalogs combined. Expands your results but necessitates the use of interlibrary loan. So order sooner than later. It takes a couple of weeks for the books to arrive. |
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
An international index to scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Materials covered include journal articles, series, monographs, and conference papers.
Coverage extends back to 1963. This database identifies refereed journal articles, and is updated ten times a year. It contains links to full text articles wherever possible. Details
| Project Muse | |
Full-text access to recent issues of over 220 journal titles from 37 scholarly publishers. Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and other disciplines. Details |
| A digital archive of the most important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text EXCEPT for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher. Covers all subjects. Details | |
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
ECCO provides access to the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, ECCO allows researchers new methods of access to publications in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Details
The Columbia History of the British Novel
Samuel Johnson. A dictionary of the English language : in which the words are deduced from their originals, and illustrated in their different significations by examples from the best writers : to which are prefixed, a history of the language and an English grammar. Dublin : Printed by R. Marchbank, 1798
This is the 8th edition of the 2-volume Dictionary. It is located in Special Collections on Level 1 on Leyburn Library. Hours are M-F 8:30 - 4:30 PM.Samuel Johnson. A Dictionary of the English Language.
This is a reprint of the 1755 Dictionary by Samuel Johnson, located in the Reference Room.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The OED is the accepted authority on the history of words in the English language. It is the most important guide to the meaning and history of over a half-million words, both past and present, tracing the meanings of these words through the use of over 2.5 million quotations, drawn from a wide range of sources. The database contains the Second Edition and additions, including quarterly updates of at least 1,000 new and revised entries. Details
| Literature Resource Center (LRC) |
Contains extensive biographical and critical information on writers, movements, and works from virtually all periods. Details
| Magill On Literature |
Very basic critical analyses and brief plot summaries of important works in the history of literature (including non-fiction works), for more contemporary book reviews, for author biographies, and for profiles of literary characters. This online resource effectively contains over 21,000 essays from over 120 volumes of reference books, including 19 Masterplots sets. Details
Click on the WebBridge link within the MLA database, or check our Periodical Finder to determine if we have access to the journal you need, and if we have the date you need. If not, you may use our Interlibrary Loan service.
Modern Language Association (MLA) Style. This citation style is used by students and scholars working in the study of literature and languages.
You can get help at W&L's Writing Center.