Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

English Resources

Research/Course Guides. Course-specific research guides

MLA International Bibliography -- Primary research database for the modern languages and literatures.

Literature Resources from Gale -- Enormous compilation of biographical and critical material, which is based on the well-established Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Contemporary Authors series. Coverage is not limited to fiction.

Literature Compass. Online journal surveying anglophone writing adding 100 new authoritative, peer-reviewed survey articles per year on the most important and interesting research in the discipline.

Literature and Language Databases

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry -- a searchable index to poems

Citation style guides and tools -- In the Humanities, the most often used bibliographic citation styles are "Chicago/Turabian" and "MLA Style". Also includes a link to "RefWorks", an online bibliographic management tool

Humanities Research Guide-- Links to Annie, WorldCat, MLA Bibliography, and other indexes

Periodical Finder -- listing of journals, magazines, newspapers available at W&L (help page)

RefWorks saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

 

Online Companions to Literature

Oxford Reference Online -- Literature (complete collection)

A Companion to the Literatures of Colonial America

American History through Literature, 1820-1870

American History through Literature, 1870-1920

Oxford Dictionary of Plays

Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature

Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature

Cambridge History of English and American Literature

Websites

Literary Resources and Guides --links to a multitude of literary indexes online. Includes MLA Bibliography

Full Text Literature Online --hundreds of full text literary works. Includes Columbia Granger's World of Poetry

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Collection. From Texas A & M

Library of Southern Literature. Maintained at the University of North Carolina.

Please note: links to sites that our library does not subscribe to may be outdated.

To find the correct URL, please search Google.