Winter 2006
Prof. Fregnac-Clave
Research Guide by Yolanda Merrill, Humanities Librarian
Literature Resource Center. Search your author, and then click the "Biographies" tab
Magill On Literature. Plots summaries, biographies, and more
Guides to French Literature List of important reference books
Leximagne: Gateway to Nearly 800 French Dictionaries
French-English and English-French dictionaries are also available at the Circulation Desk; in the Reference Room; and in the stacks.
ARTFL Database. A research tool for scholars and students in all areas of French studies. Access to 2000 full text sources; the Diderot Encyclopedia project; the French Bible by Louis Segond; dictionaries; many collaborative projects, and much more.
ArtStor. This is an art image database we subscribe to. You can print these out for class purposes.
Google Scholar. Information about Google Scholar
Annie Catalog (books). Link to French Short Stories in Annie.
WorldCat (books). A vast collection of library catalogs in one database.
MLA Bibliography (journal articles and book chapters). Most important index for literary research. Some full text. ( MLA Bibliography Tutorial )
Project Muse (full text journal articles)
JSTOR (full text journal articles)
Arts and Humanities Search (journal articles). General humanities index; some full text.
Literature Resource Center (essays and articles). Look for author/title and then click "Literary Criticism" tab.
Humanities Research Guide. Lists the individual W&L databases that cover the humanities.
Read this piece to quickly learn how to evaluate citations.
Check our Periodical Finder to determine if we have access to the journal you need, and if we have the date you need. If not, please fill out the Interlibrary Loan form on that page.
Here are links to Citation Style Guides which show you the right format for citing sources. There is also a link to plagiarism sites from here.
If you'd like to have some individual time with me to discuss ways on how to research your topic, please send me a Research Appointment request.
Corrector programs are available at the Tucker Multimedia Center.
For French grammar books, click here: French language -- Grammar