Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

Philosophy 263: Kierkegaard

kierkegaard kierkegaard kierkegaard kierkegaard kierkegaard kierkegaard kierkegaard

Fall 2007, Prof. Sessions

Research Guide prepared by Yolanda Merrill, Humanities Librarian

How To

Define and research your topic.

Write an academic paper. Excellent introduction to researching and writing an academic paper. Created by Dartmouth College library.

Request an item on Interlibrary Loan. This W&L service will borrow books and articles for you from other libraries.

Write your bibliography.  Learn to cite your sources using the MLA (Modern Language Association) Citation Style guide.

RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

Avoid Plagiarism. Staying out of trouble.

Get Research Help. Fill out this form if you'd like to meet with Prof. Merrill individually to discuss your research.

Background Information

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Dictionary of the History of Ideas

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas (first revision)

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (work in progress)

The Cambridge companion to Kierkegaard / edited by Alastair Hannay and Gordon D. Marino

The philosophers : introducing great western thinkers / edited by Ted Honderich

Historical dictionary of Kierkegaard's philosophy / Julia Watkin

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World

Finding Books

Annie ex: KeyWord: kierkegaard passion*

         LC Subject Heading = Kierkegaard (this leads to 48 different subject headings for Kierkegaard)

WorldCat. Hundreds of library catalogs combined.

Finding Articles

Philosopher's Index

ATLA Religion -index

Arts and Humanities Search -index

MLA International Bibliography -index

Literature Resource Center -biographies and more
Humanities Research Guide -more indexes for the humanities

more resources in Philosophy

Ethics Vols. 48 (Issue 3)-107 (Issue 1), 1938-
Moving Wall: 5 Years
Journal URL:

http://www.jstor.org/journals/00141704.html 
Publisher: The University of Chicago Press
continues International Journal of Ethics Vols. 1-48 (Issue 2), 1890-1938
Journal URL: http://www.jstor.org/journals/1526422X.html 

The Journal of Philosophy Vols. 18-93, 1921-
Moving Wall: 5 Years
Journal URL: http://www.jstor.org/journals/0022362X.html 
Publisher: Journal of Philosophy, Inc.
continues The Journal of Philosophy, Psychology and Scientific Methods Vols. 1-17, 1904-1920
Journal URL: http://www.jstor.org/journals/01609335.html 

Journal of Symbolic Logic Vols. 1-62, 1936-
Moving Wall: 4 Years
Journal URL: http://www.jstor.org/journals/00224812.html 
Publisher: Association for Symbolic Logic

Mind Vols. 1-16, 1876-1891; New Series, Vols. 1-103, 1892-
Moving Wall: 7 Years
Journal URL: http://www.jstor.org/journals/00264423.html 
Publisher: Oxford University Press on behalf of the Mind Association

Noûs Vols. 1-30, 1967-
Moving Wall: 5 Years
Journal URL: http://www.jstor.org/journals/00294624.html 
Publisher: Blackwell Publishers
absorbs Philosophical Perspectives Vols. 1-9, 1987-1995
Journal URL: http://www.jstor.org/journals/15208583.html 

Philosophical Perspectives Vols. 1-9, 1987-
Journal URL: http://www.jstor.org/journals/15208583.html 
Publisher: Blackwell Publishers
absorbed by Noûs Vols. 1-30, 1967-1996
Journal URL: http://www.jstor.org/journals/00294624.html 

Philosophical Quarterly Vols. 1-46, 1950-
Moving Wall: 5 Years
Journal URL: http://www.jstor.org/journals/00318094.html 
Publisher: Blackwell Publishers for The Philosophical Quarterly

The Philosophical Review Vols. 1-107, 1892-
Moving Wall: 3 Years
Journal URL: http://www.jstor.org/journals/00318108.html 
Publisher: Cornell University

Philosophy and Phenomenological Research Vols. 1-56, 1940-
Moving Wall: 5 Years
Journal URL: http://www.jstor.org/journals/00318205.html 
Publisher: International Phenomenological Society

Philosophy and Public Affairs Vols. 1-25, 1971-
Moving Wall: 5 Years
Journal URL: http://www.jstor.org/journals/00483915.html 
Publisher: Princeton University Press

Berlinische Monatsschrift 1783-1811

British Journal of Aesthetics 1996- (tables of contents and abstracts only)

Cambridge Quarterly of Healthcare Ethics ( full text v. 7 (1998) - )

Deutsche Zeitschrift für Philosophie

Etica e Politica 1999-

Harvard Review of Philosophy

Hyle: An International Journal for the Philosophy of Chemistry

Informal Logic (tables of contents only)

International Kierkegaard Newsletter

Io, the Internet Magazine for Applied Aesthetics 1998-

Journal of Artificial Intelligence Research

Journal of Ayn Rand Studies 1999-2000 (tables of contents only)

Journal of Buddhist Ethics

Journal of World-Systems Research

Legal Theory (full text v. 5 (1999 - )

Mind 1996- (tables of contents and abstracts only)

Nordic Journal of Philosophical Logic

Philosophy (full text v. 73 (1998 - )

Philosophy Now (tables of contents 1991-)

Sic et Non: Online Forum for Philosophy and Culture

Techné: Journal of the Society for Philosophy and Technology 1995-1999
 


Text archives and projects
The Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts (University of California, Berkeley)
The ARTFL Project (University of Chicago)
The Bentham Project (University College, London)
Christian Classics Ethereal Library (Wheaton College)
Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names. Excellent site by Garth Kemerling.
The Digital Texts Project (Columbia University)
Descartes' Meditations in Latin, French and English (Wright State University)
Discours de la Méthode 

The English Server Philosophy Page (Carnegie Mellon University)
Ethics Updates (University of San Diego)
The 4th Tetralogy: Exploring Plato's Middle Dialogues (University of Evansville)
Gender & Ethics (University of San Diego)
A Glossary of Kant's Technical Terms

The Greek Philosophy Archive (University of Georgia)
The Hartlib Project (University of Sheffield)
Hellinomnimon: Digital Library of Greek Philosophical and Scientific Books and Manuscripts (1600-1821)
The Logic Server
Karl Marx/Friedrich Engels Archives (University of Colorado)
The Paideia Project Online (Boston University) 
Patrologia Latina
The Peirce Edition Project
The Schopenhauer Archive (Stadt- und Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt)
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Wittgenstein Archives (University of Bergen)

-return to top of page


Conferences
APA Division Meeting Schedule
Conferences and Calls for Papers (from the APA)
The Mid-South Philosophy Conference
The Philosophical Calendar
Philosophical Events
Twentieth World Congress of Philosophy
21st International Wittgenstein Symposium

-return to top of page


Electronic discussion lists
The Philosophy in Cyberspace site maintains a comprehensive list of mailing lists and Usenet groups, arranged by subject.
  

-return to top of page


Web resources on major philosophers
Archimedes
Boethius
Marquis de Condorcet
Deleuze Web/Web Deleuze
Ereignis: The Heidegger Home Page
Gottlob Frege
Edmund Husserl
William James
Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz
Bernard Lonergan
Maurice Merleau-Ponty
Charles S. Peirce
Arisbe: The life and work of Charles S. Peirce
Walker Percy
Plato
Karl Popper Web
Pierre-Joseph Proudhon
Baruch Spinoza (in Dutch) 
Studia Spinoziana
Ludwig Wittgenstein

-return to top of page


Miscellanea
Le Café-Philo (Association philosophie par Tous)
Café Philosophique
Graduate Student Philosophy Conferences
The Hartmann Report, 1997-1998
Images of Philosophers/Galeria d'imatges-Galería de imágenes
Philosophical Events (from Episteme Links)
The Philosophical Gourmet Report, 1998-2000 (the "Leiter Report")

-return to top of page