This course is currently not offered.
Expectations:
The annotated bibliography will
contain short annotations, which will serve as the foundation for your research.
It is a record of the work you did leading up to writing the prospectus and,
as such, should be reflected in the prospectus. If you write your prospectus
without reference to the bibliography, then the bibliography has not served
its purpose. The sources you choose to include may be books, articles, or
image-based work such as film and painting. More importantly, they should
represent a diversity of approaches to and opinions about your topic. These
approaches and opinions may be conflicting or they may be just different,
but they should serve as a guide to understanding varying approaches to the
topic and the perspective that each approach affords you. --Written by
the Religion Department.
Final
Project
Students writing an honors thesis: 15-20 annotated scholarly sources.
Students writing a regular thesis: 10-12 annotated scholarly sources.
Example of a Final Bibliography
Required
Text
We use Kate Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and
Dissertations , 6th edition. This text follows the Chicago style of citing
sources.
Copies are available on Reserve at the Circulation Desk, or can be purchased
at the bookstore.
Class participation is crucial to the determination of your grade.
All assignments are to be emailed
to me as a Word document attachment the Wednesday after Friday
classes.
October 7
ASSIGNMENT 1
Answer the following questions in
a well-organized, well-written piece.
Write a one page statement discussing your topic, including a "working
title", and what "problem" you are going to research, or what
"question" you are going to answer. What interests you about the topic?
How much prior research you have done? Have you written a short
paper on the topic already? What research obstacles do you predict? (i.e.
language, finding sources, etc.) Who is going to be your advisor for
your senior thesis?
You will be graded on quality of writing and thought. Please word-process
and attach this document in an email to me before Friday noon.
ASSIGNMENT 2
Find 8-10 pertinent books on your
thesis topic. Provide a short annotation for each title. Try to find books
that deal with your topic from different perspectives. Cite them in bibliographically
correct form using the Turabian Manual. (Chapter 11 and the Index will help
you along) . Word-process and email to me as an attachment.
I will correct this work and return it to you for revision. This assignment
is graded as Pass/Fail.
October 21
Discussion of book bibliography assignment.
Set up individual meetings for November.
FINDING ARTICLES : Periodical Indexes/Databases
ASSIGNMENT 1
Find 8-10 pertinent articles on
your thesis topic. Cite them using the Turabian Manual. Provide a short annotation
for each title. Word-process and send as email attachment.
I will correct this work and return it to you for revision. Graded as Pass/Fail.
DUE: OCT. 28
ASSIGNMENT 2
Revise your book bibliography and send to me via email. This work will be graded.
DUE: OCT. 28
November 14-18
INDIVIDUAL MEETINGS in Prof. Merrill's office.
December 16
Final
Annotated Bibliography and Prospective due by 5:00 pm. One
copy to be turned in to me, and one to your advisor. This work will
be graded.