Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

Spanish 211: Spanish Culture and Civilization

Research Guide

Prof. Herrera / Merrill

Fall 2004

 

Searching the Library Catalog, Annie:

KEYWORD searching

If you are researching a specific topic, I recommend you do a KEYWORD search. You may combine search terms. Example: franco* and (spain or spanish) and feminis*

SUBJECT searching

The following subject headings will lead you to books on topics covered in this course. Select SUBJECT (not Keyword).

REFORMATION SPAIN

SPAIN CIVILIZATION
SPAIN HISTORY
SPAIN HISTORY CIVIL WAR
SPAIN ART
SPAIN CHURCH HISTORY
SPAIN CIVIL SOCIETY
SPAIN POLITICS AND GOVERNMENT
SPAIN CIVILIZATION HISTORY
SPAIN CATHOLIC CHURCH
SPAIN DEMOCRACY
SPAIN ECONOMIC CONDITIONS
SPAIN ECONOMIC POLICY
SPAIN INQUISITION
SPAIN INTELLECTUAL LIFE
SPAIN ISLAM
SPAIN LITERATURE AND SOCIETY
SPAIN MUSLIMS HISTORY
SPAIN NATIONALISM
SPAIN RELIGIOUS LIFE AND CUSTOMS
SPAIN RENAISSANCE
SPAIN SOCIAL LIFE AND CUSTOMS
SPAIN THEATER HISTORY
SPAIN VISIGOTHS
SPAIN WOMEN 
 

Background Information:

The following Reference Books will help you with background material. When the location says "REFERENCE", they are located in the Reference Room and cannot be checked out.

Encyclopedia of contemporary Spanish culture. Leyburn-Reference: DP233.5 .E63 1999

A dictionary of contemporary Spain. Leyburn-Level 4: DP12 .T78 1998

Historical dictionary of Spain. Leyburn-Level 4: DP12 .S59 1996

Dictionary of the literature of the Iberian peninsula. Leyburn-Reference: PN849.S6 D54 1993

Spanish artists from the fourth to the twentieth century : a critical dictionary. Leyburn-Level 3: N7112 .S67 1993

Historical dictionary of the Spanish Empire, 1402-1975. Leyburn-Level 4: DP56 .H57 1992

Historical dictionary of the Spanish Civil War, 1936-1939. Leyburn-Level 4: DP269 .H54 

The Cambridge companion to modern Spanish culture. Leyburn-Level 4: DP48 .C233 1999

The Encyclopedia of religion. Leyburn-Reference: BL31 .E46 1986 v. 1-16

The dictionary of art. Leyburn-Reference: N31 .D5 1996 v. 1-34
Grove Art Online. Online version of the Dictionary of Art

Finding Scholarly Articles:

To find articles in journals or books, search one of the following online indexes/databases.

Arts and Humanities Search - Covers all disciplines in the humanities.
Historical Abstracts - Covers all countries, except the US and Canada, from 1450 to the present.
Expanded Academic ASAP - General coverage, including many articles in full text.
International Medieval Bibliography - Articles covering the period between 400-1500 AD.

Project Muse - full-text database covering the humanities and social sciences.

How do I find the article I need?

Searching the Periodical Finder for Access to Articles.

To find out if you can find the article (in print or full-text) in our library, consult our Periodical Finder.  Look for the journal title, not the journal article.
If the library does not hold the title, you may request the article on Interlibrary Loan.

Media Resources:

Finding Videos/DVDs at Leyburn

Films IN SPANISH:

Select KEYWORD in Annie. Put an asterisk (*) in the search box. Limit the Language field to "Spanish".  Limit the Material Type to "Videos/VHS", or to "DVD".

Films ABOUT SPAIN:

Select KEYWORD in Annie. Put the search (Spain or Spanish) -including the parentheses!- in the search box. Do not limit the language field. Limit the Material Type as above.

Having trouble?
Research Help

If you'd like some help with your research project, please set up a research appointment with me.