Biographical Information
Literature Resource Center. Biographical and critical information.
European Writers. REF PN501.E9 1983. Use the Index.
The Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature. REF PQ 6006.O93.
Spanish Women Writers. REF PQ 6055.S63 1993.
The Novel as a Genre
Becoming and consumption : the contemporary Spanish novel.
PQ6055 .B67 2007
Crossfire : philosophy and the novel in Spain, 1900-1934.
PQ6144 .J58 1993
More books like this are listed in Annie under the subject heading:
Spanish fiction -- 20th century -- History and criticism
Encyclopedia of the Novel. REF PN41 .E53 1998 v.1-2.
The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms. Online in Annie
The book of literary terms : the genres of fiction, drama, nonfiction, literary criticism, and scholarship. REF PN44.5 .T87 1999
Critical works about specific authors
Camilo José Cela: General call number in the stacks is PQ6605.E44 on level 3. Browse here, too, for more titles. Also check Annie and WorldCat for new titles.
Camilo José Cela /D. W. McPheeters. PQ6605.E44 Z77
Social disintegration in three novels by Camilo José Cela / Roger D. Tinnell. PQ6605.E44 Z92 2000
Understanding Camilo José Cela / Lucile C. Charlebois . PQ6605.E44 Z625 1998
La novelística de Camilo José Cela / Paul Ilie. PQ6605.E44 Z55
Camilo José Cela revisited : the later novels / Janet Pérez. PQ6605.E44 Z783 2000
Camilo José Cela / Ignaico Ruiz Quintano. PQ6605.E44 Z878 1992
Dulce Chacon:
Search WorldCat and the MLA Bibliography for critical information on this author.
Carmen Martín Gaite: General call number in the stacks is PQ6623.A7657 on level 3. Browse here, too, for more titles. Also check Annie and WorldCat for new titles.
Carmen Martín Gaite : in search of conversation. DVD PQ6623.A7657 Z645 2003
Childhood and adolescence in the fictional narratives of Carmen Martín Gaite / Sandra Elve Clevenger. PQ6623.A7657 Z57 1990
Silence in Carmen Martin Gaite's Entre visillos, El cuarto de atras, and Nubosidad variable / Adrián M. García.
PQ6623.A7657 Z662 2000
From fiction to metafiction : essays in honor of Carmen Martin-Gaite / Mirella Servodidio and Marcia L. Welles, editors. PQ6623.A7657 Z66 1983
"Writing from Within, with her Own Voice: Carmen Martin Gaite (1925-)", in Spanish women's writing, 1849-1996.
PQ6055 .D38 1998
Feminine concerns in contemporary Spanish fiction by women / PQ6144 .F36 1988
Benito Peréz Galdós: General call number in the stacks is PQ6555.Z5 on level 3. You should browse the shelves, where there are many more titles on Galdos. Also check Annie and WorldCat for new titles.
Benito Peréz Galdós./ Walter T. Pattison. PQ6555.Z5 P28 (level 3)
The reframing of realism : Galdós and the discourses of the nineteenth-century Spanish novel / Hazel Gold. PQ6555.Z5 G65 1993
Galdós : the early historical novels / Brian J. Dendle . PQ6555.E463 D38 1986
The novels of Pérez Galdós; the concept of life as dynamic process / Eoff, Sherman Hinkle. PQ6555.Z5 E6
Ambiguous angels : gender in the novels of Galdós / Catherine Jagoe. PQ6555.Z5 J34 1994
Galdós studies / edited by J. E. Varey. PQ6555.Z5 V3
Miguel de Unamuno: General call numbers in the stacks are PQ6639.N3 on level 3, and B4568.U54 on level 4. Browse here, too, for more titles. Also check Annie and WorldCat for new titles.
Miguel de Unamuno / Martin Nozick. PQ6639.N3 Z7935
Miguel de Unamuno / Julián Marías ; translated. PQ6639.N3 Z792 1966
Reason aflame; Unamuno and the heroic will / Ouimette, Victor . B4568.U54 O9 1974
Unamuno; an existential view of self and society / Paul Ilie. B4568.U54 I4
"'Knight-Errantry of the Spirit': Unamuno's Poetry and Prose", in Christianity and modern European literature.
PN49 .M865 1997
Intra-historia in Miguel de Unamuno's novels : a continual presence / Peggy W. Watson. PQ6639.N3 Z89 1993
Crossfire : philosophy and the novel in Spain, 1900-1934 / Roberta Johnson . PQ6144 .J58 1993
Critical Sources and Background Readings
MLA Bibliography. Crucial research tool for research in modern languages and literatures. The MLA indexes journal articles, book articles, and dissertations. Read carefully the instructions on the introductory page on how to perform a search. Come and see me (prof. Merrill) at the library if you need help.
Humanities Research Guide. Listing of all periodical databases in the humanities.
Manual de literatura española. REF PQ6032 .P4 v. 7 (Epoca del Realismo)
Hispanic Literature Criticism. 2 vols. REF PQ 6039.H5 1994
Diccionario de literatura española. PQ6006 .D5 1972 (level 3)
Dictionary of the literature of the Iberian peninsula / edited by Germán Bleiberg, Maureen Ihrie, and Janet Pérez. 2 vols. REF PN849.S6 D54 1993
Encyclopedia of contemporary Spanish culture. REF DP233.5 .E63 1999
The Cambridge companion to modern Spanish culture. DP48 .C233 1999 (level 4)
Encyclopedia of the novel. REF PN41 .E53 1998 v.1-2.
The genius of Spain and other essays on Spanish contemporary literature. PQ6072 .M3 (level 3)
Searching Annie ( our online catalog), and WorldCat (a national library catalog)
Subject searches for books on the following, type:
Spanish literature history and criticism 19th century
Spanish literature history and criticism 20th century
To look up works by an author: do an author search under the last name.
To look up works about an author: do a subject search or keyword search under the last name.
Keyword searching, type:
spain and 19th century
spain and 20th century
spain and history
spain and culture
spain and civilization
spain and civil war
spain and historiography
etc.
For a List of Journals in this field, type in the LC Subject Heading field:
Spanish Literature History And Criticism Periodicals
HOW TO
Define and research your topic.
Write an academic paper. Excellent introduction to researching and writing an academic paper. Created by Dartmouth College library.
Request an item on Interlibrary Loan. This W&L service will borrow books and articles for you from other libraries.
Write your bibliography. Learn to cite your sources using the MLA (Modern Language Association) Citation Style guide.
RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies
Avoid Plagiarism. Staying out of trouble.
Get Research Help. Fill out this form if you'd like to meet with Prof. Merrill individually to discuss your research.
|