Classics Resources
Research Guide for Classics 238: Pompeii
The main index for classical research is L'Année Philologique.
The Brill's New
Pauly is the most authorative encyclopedia for Classicists.This work-in-progress
is the English-language edition of Der Neue Pauly , the encyclopedia of the
ancient world, with a focus on Greco-Roman antiquity and its long and influential
aftermath.
The Humanities
Research Guide points you to resources needed for research in the
Humanities. It includes information about where to find books and periodical
articles, and has direct links to specialized databases.
How to check if we have a certain journal article available:
The Periodical Finder
(help page) is a complete
listing of journals, magazines, newspapers available at W&L.
RefWorks : bibliographic management
tool
Online Dictionaries
Oxford
Reference Online: Classics. Growing collection of online reference works
published by Oxford UP.
Please note: links to sites that our library does not subscribe to may be outdated.
To find the correct URL, please search Google.
Electronic journals
Arethusa
American Journal of Philology
Electronic
Antiquity from University of Tasmania
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Arachne
Journal
of Modern Greek Studies
Didaskalia:
Ancient Theatre today
Collections of texts
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae. Online database of Greek texts.
Patrologiae Latinae (Cetedoc library of Christian Latin texts).
CD-ROM 14, at Circulation Desk.
Online Medieval and Classical
Library Some of the most important literary works of Classical and
Medieval civilization.
Latin Texts
Via the E-text Center at UVA
Latin
Culture Resources from Georgetown Univ.
The Internet Classics Archive
Collection of >400 Classical Greek and Roman texts in English translation.
Student project at MIT.
An Analytic
bibliography of on-line neo-Latin texts Part of Philological
Museum at U.California, Irvine. Texts composed during and after the Renaissance.
Links
to Classics Resources
The Perseus Project Digital library on Ancient Greece, created by Tufts' Department of Classics.
Classics Collections Page From U.Florida. Contains many full-text classics journals..
Encyclopedia Mythica
an encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and legend. Award winning and online
since 1995.
The Rome Project Large site maintained by the Dalton School at Columbia University.
The Ovid Project From the U of Vermont.
The Virgil Project From the U of Pennsylvania.
The Peraldus
Project From the U of Pennsylvania.
Exploring Ancient World
Cultures An exhibition of WWW sites pertaining to world cultures with
introductory comments by Bill Hemminger
Glossary of Literary
Terms and Handbook of Rhetorical Devices Short, concise definitions
of terms are provided along with examples.
Voice of the Shuttle
- Classics Excellent site linking to a multitude of Classics sites.
Associations, Departments
American
Philological Association
Classics Departments World Wide (Oxford U.)
Classics Departments Worldwide (U. Cambridge)
Department of Classical Studies (U. Michigan)
Citation
style guides and tools
In the Humanities, the most
often used bibliographic citation styles are "Chicago/Turabian"
and "MLA Style". Also includes a link to "RefWorks", an
online bibliographic management tool.