Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

French Resources

Course Research Guides

French 273: Introduction to Literary Analysis

French 397: Eighteenth-Century French Women Writers

French 282: Culture et Civilisation Françaises Contemporaines

French 332: Contes et Nouvelles (Etudes de genre)

French 397: Women and the Commedia del' Arte

Guides to French Literature.  Listing of important reference books

Online resources

Please note: links to sites that our library does not subscribe to may be outdated. If you encounter a dead link, please search Google.

Literature Resource Center. Search your author, and then click the "Biographies" tab; the "Literary Criticism" tab, and more.

Annie Catalog (books)  

WorldCat (books)

MLA Bibliography (journal articles and book chapters). Most important index for literary research. Some full text. (MLA Bibliography Tutorial)

Project Muse (full text journal articles)

JSTOR (full text journal articles; most recent years of journal articles are not available)

Arts and Humanities Search (journal articles).  General humanities index; some full text.

Bibliotheque Nationale de France. Access to the BNF's online catalog, Bn-Opale, including all serials cataloged since 1960 and all books since 1970. Also includes online exhibitions and a virtual tour of the BNF's new quarters.

France in America. A partnership between the Library of Congress and the Bibliotheque nationale de France has produced this digital research library "that tells the story of the French presence in America and the interactions between the French and American peoples from the early 16th to the late 19th centuries." Presented in English and in French.

ARTFL Database  A research tool for scholars and students in all areas of French studies. Access to 2000 full text sources; the Diderot Encyclopedia project; the French Bible by Louis Segond; dictionaries; many collaborative projects, and much more.

The Encyclopedia of Diderot & d'Alembert  Collaborative Translation Project. Widely considered to be one of the crowning achievements of the Enlightenment, the Encyclopedia edited by Denis Diderot and Jean le Rond d'Alembert in the 18th century has proved to be fertile ground for those who have sought to classify and chronicle the various branches of knowledge. This highly ambitious project was published during the period 1751 to 1777, and included 32 volumes amply illustrated with engraved plates. Close to 250 years later, a group of talented individuals sought to create an online version of the Encyclopedia translated into English, with links to the original French versions. From the U. of Michigan.

FYI France. Provides links to digital information in/on France. It connects you to many French libraries, publishers, book dealers, etc. (You may subscribe to this service to take advantage of all of its offerings.)

HAPAX: French Resources on the Web A very nice site full of good information. Check out the Tintin page under "Humor". This site is maintained by Sweet Briar College. French-English/English-French dictionary

Quid. World facts and figures, country maps, flags, pictures, and much more.

La Cle: Repertoire de Procedes Litteraires Tout ce qui peut se faire dans le domaine des lettres: effet de style, "fleur de rhetorique", forme politique, type d'argument, artifice romanesque, jeu de mot... se trouve ici; y compris le geste et le dessin accompagnant du texte.

Culture.fr Le Portail de la Culture

UVa's Electronic Text Center (On-line French texts and Web links)

Reading Women Writers and African Literature.

The following sources are borrowed from Yale University's French Resources page. Please report broken links here, or search Google.

Associations

Reference Shelf

Bibliographic Databases

Electronic Texts

Library Catalogs and Library Information

Book Trade

WWW Gateways for and to France

Newspapers, Periodicals, and Other News Sources