A ArCo

Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

humanities research guide

This guide will show you the major databases used to do research in the humanities at W&L. What defines "humanities"? : Those branches of knowledge, such as philosophy, literature, and art, that are concerned with human thought and culture; the liberal arts. (from the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language)

Finding Books : general information

         To find books on your topic, you should use Annie, our Library Catalog. If the library does not have enough coverage on your topic, you may search WorldCat, a national catalog. WorldCat has an interlibrary loan icon (ILL) on the results page, which allows you to request the book from another library. If you are doing a search by topic, we recommend you start your search using KEYWORD.

Finding Articles  &  Do we have the articles you need?

         Articles are found in indexes, also called databases. A listing of humanities indexes is found below. Many databases have direct links to full-text articles. However, if no full-text if provided in the database, you need to go to our Periodical Finder. The Periodical Finder will indicate where you can find the full-text of the article, be it in online form or in print form in the library stacks. However, our holdings are limited, and you may use our Interlibrary Loan service to request articles we do not have available.

Look for full text through WebBridge This icon in search results will link you to full-text resources when available.

TIPS    1 : Read through the entire list of databases before making your selection

          2 : Read the database description to determine what the database consists of, how to search it, etc.

 

Major Databases for Research in the Humanities

1. Covering All Disciplines (limited coverage of the humanities)

Arts and Humanities Search

Project Muse

JSTOR

Alternative Press Index

Academic Search Complete

Periodical Index Online

LexisNexis Academic

2. Art and Architecture

Art Full Text

Art Retrospective

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)

3. Literature & Language

MLA Bibliography

4. Philosophy

Philosopher's Index

5. Religion

ATLA Religion

6. History

America: History and Life

Historical Abstracts

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

7. Classics

l'Annee Philologique

8. Music

No specialized database: use Category 1

9. Theater

No specialized database: use Category 1

 

For complete coverage of online research resources, go to Databases by Subject . This will include links to reference sources, such as encyclopedias.