Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

Italian Research Resources

Literary Forms

Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary

Encyclopedia of the Novel

The book of literary terms : the genres of fiction, drama, nonfiction, literary criticism, and scholarship. PN44.5 .T87 1999

The Twentieth Century Novel: an Introduction. PN172 .E52 2001

The Short Story: a Critical Introduction. PN3373 .S384 1983

On Drama: Boundaries of Genre, Borders of Self. PN1631 .G59 2000

The New Princeton encyclopedia of poetry and poetics. PN1021 .N39 1993

Dictionary of Poetic Terms. PN1042 .M93 2003

The Teachers & writers handbook of poetic forms . PN1042 .T43 1987

Encyclopedia of the Essay. PN6141 .E53 1997

Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory. PN41 .C83 1998

Dictionary of Concepts in Literary Criticism and Theory. PN41 .H36 1992

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism. PN81 .J554 2005

A Handbook to Literature. PN41 .H6 1992

Dictionary of Literary Themes and Motives. PN43 .D48 1988

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric. PN172 .E52 2001

Biographies

Literature Resource Center

     Italian prose writers, 1900-1945. REF PN451 .D5 vol. 264

     Italian novelists since World War 11, 1945-1965. REF PN451 .D5 vol. 177

     Italian novelists since World War II, 1965-1990. REF PN451 .D5 vol. 196

     Twentieth-century Italian poets. REF PN451 .D5 vol. 128 and vol. 114

The Oxford companion to Italian literature . REF PQ4006 .O84 2002

The Cambridge History of Italian Literature. REF PQ 4038 .C35 1996

Dictionary of Italian literature. REF PQ4006 .D45 1996

Historical dictionary of modern Italy. REF DG555 .G53 1999

European Writers. REF PN 501 .E9 1983

The Oxford Pocket Italian Dictionary - online

Literary Criticism

MLA Bibliography - most important index for literary research in journals and some books

Annie Catalog - look for your author or title as a Subject heading or Keyword

                     - look under Subject heading  Modernism Italy Literature

WorldCat - use same search strategy as in Annie

Literature Resource Center - look for author/title and then click "Literary Criticism" tab.

And don't forget to look at the bibliographies in the back of the books/articles you find!

Do we have the journal article you need?

Check our Periodical Finder to determine if we have access to the journal you need, and if we have the date you need. If not, please fill out the Interlibrary Loan form on that page.

Research Appointments

If you'd like to have some individual time with me to discuss ways on how to research your topic, please send me a Research Appointment request.

Writing your paper

You can get help at W&L's Writing Center

Writing your bibliography and endnotes

Here are links to Citation Style Guides which show you the right format for citing sources. There is also a link to plagiarism sites from here.

RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies