Music Resources

Course Research Guides:

Music 180: The Human Voice: Science and Sound (Prof. Myers)

 
Background Information
Oxford Music Online
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Opera
Who's Who in Opera
        CHICO Instrument Encyclopedia (Univ. of Michigan)
   Performing Arts Encyclopedia  (Library of Congress)

Finding journal articles       

        Arts and Humanities Search  Indexes many music journals

Humanities Research Guide  Links to specialized indexes in the humanities        
        Periodical Finder  Listing of journals, magazines, newspapers available at W&L. Check this site after you have found citations in the indexes above. (help page)

Finding books

        Annie Catalog   Finds books, CDs, videos in our collection

        Worldcat   Finds books, CDs, videos beyond our collection

Online listening

Classical Music Library  Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. Its focus is on content that meets the needs of educators and students.

The Music Department's Website

W&L's Music Department maintains an elaborate site as well. Check it out.

http://music.wlu.edu/component/option,com_weblinks/Itemid,23/

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Please note: links to sites that our library does not subscribe to may be outdated.

To find the correct URL, please search Google.

Finding sheet music

Edition Eulenburg. More than 1,100 titles in chamber, orchestra, choir, and opera. Search the Eulenburg Series in Annie (do a keyword search for Eulenburg and Mozart; Eulenburg and Stravinsky; etc.)

(Or, do an Advanced Annie search for Composer; then limit to Material Type = MUSICAL SCORE)

FreeMusicLibrary (free) 

The Sheet Music Archive (free)

MusicScores.com (for pay)

many more sites via Google

Websites

        General

         All-Music Guide. The 1999 MARS best free reference website.

    Librarians Internet Index: Music

    Websites of interest to Musicologists From Univ. of PA  

Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, 1870-1885. Digitized sheet music from the Library of Congress. Search by author, title, or subject, and view the complete musical notation. 
Women composers and women's music. Anthology of web sites. Continuously growing.
        Performing arts in America, 1875-1923. Created by the NYPL
         

        Classical

         Classical Net  Thousands of links to music sites, both non-commercial and commercial.

The Great Composers via classicalmus.com (biographies and recommended recordings).
Pianopedia. This search engine is designed for piano teachers and students, as well as performing      pianists. It can be used to explore the repertoire in search for new works to learn and perform. It also serves as a detailed reference source for the classical piano repertoire.
        Baroque Music Homepage
        Essentials of Music. A collaboration between W.W. Norton & Co. and Sony Classical Music.
 

        Jazz
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Included in the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians Online. 
Red Hot Jazz Archive. Available here in streaming audio format are more than 1,000significant recordings by the likes of King Oliver, Louis Armstrong, Jelly Roll Morton, and Duke Ellington, along with bibliographies and other information. Rare items, oddities, and film are also represented.
The Jazz Review. This site seems to have something for almost every jazz fan.
A Jazz Improvisation Primer Online textbook by jazz musician Marc Sabatella.
A Passion for Jazz! Music History and Education

Opera and Musical Theater
New Grove Dictionary of Opera. Included in the  New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians Online.      
Opera Links from Yahoo
OperaNet
Operabase
Virtual Opera House
The Aria database. "A diverse collection of information on over 1000 operatic arias. Designed for singers and non-singers alike, the Database includes translations and aria texts of most arias as well as a collection of MIDI files of operatic arias and ensembles."
Musicals101.com: the Cyber Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre, TV and Film  

Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music. From Johns Hopkins University

Ethnic Music

Archive of World Music (Harvard)

Smithsonian Global Sound (SGS). From the Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage.

Southern Mosaic: The John and Ruby Lomaz 1939 Southern States Recording Trip. From the Library of Congress American Memory project.

Popular

Billboard.com

Popular American music collection from UCLA

 

Musical Instruments

The Virtual Instrument Museum From Wesleyan University

Medieval and Renaissance Instruments From Iowa State U.

 

CDs via the Internet

Reviews of Online Music Stores
CD Now: buy music online

Copyright

MLA: Copyright for Music Librarians From the Music Library Association

Public Domain Music

 

Citation style guides and tools : In the Humanities, the most often used bibliographic citation styles are "Chicago/Turabian" and "MLA Style".

RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

 

  Page maintained by Yolanda Merrill