Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

philosophy

Course Research Guides

Philosophy 256: Philosophy and Literature

Philosophy 263: Kierkegaard

Philosophy 385A: John Rawls and Justice

Major Research Resources
Philosopher's Index  Major Index for journal- and book articles, including book reviews. --> Use the Look for full text through WebBridge  icon in the Result List to determine our holdings.      

ATLA Religion index
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Dictionary of the History of Ideas

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas (first revision)

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (work in progress)

Biographical Dictionaries of Philosophers: Search Annie under Subject for Philosophers -- Biography

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World

Humanities Research Guide  Prepared bythe humanities librarian

Citation style guides and tools. How to write a bibliography

RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

 

How To (newly added)

Write an academic paper. Excellent introduction to defining your topic; researching your topic; and writing an academic paper. Created by Dartmouth College library.

Write a Philosophy paper. From Dartmouth College Library

RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

Request an item on Interlibrary Loan. This W&L service will borrow books and articles for you from other libraries.

Avoid Plagiarism. Staying out of trouble.

Get Research Help. Fill out this form if you'd like to meet with Prof. Merrill individually to discuss your research.

 

Please note: links to sites that our library does not subscribe to may be outdated. To find the correct URL, please search Google.

 

Miscellaneous philosophy sites

Academic Info: Philosophy
Australasian Philosophy Network
Bioethics on the Web (National Institutes of Health gateway)
Episteme Links
Hippias: Limited Area Search of Philosophy on the Internet
Lycos
Philosophy Around the Web
Philosophy at Large
Philosophy in Cyberspace
Philosophy Pages (Dieter Köhler, ed.)
Philosophy Research Base
World-Wide Web Virtual Library: German Subject Catalogue: Philosophie (in German)
Yahoo! Philosophy

Associations, Organizations & Directories

American Philosophical Association
American Society for Aesthetics
American Society for Bioethics and Humanities
Association for Symbolic Logic
British Society for Philosophy of Science
Canadian Philosophical Association/Association Canadienne de Philosophie
Directory of Women Philosophers
FoLLI: the European Association for Logic, Language and Information
Institut Wiener Kreis
Kurt Gödel Society
Philosophy of Science Association
Society for Medieval and Renaissance Philosophy (currently not connecting. 3/03)
Society for Women in Philosophy

 Philosophy departments and programs

Philosophy departments in France
Philosophy departments in Germany
Philosophy departments in the United Kingdom and Ireland
Philosophy departments in the United States (from the APA web site)

Research centers

The Bakhtin Centre (University of Sheffield)
Center for Advancement of Applied Ethics (Carnegie Mellon University)
Center for Bioethics/Bioethics.net (University of Pennsylvania)
Center for Philosophy of Science (University of Pittsburgh)
Center for the Study of Bioethics (Medical College of Wisconsin)
Center for the Study of Language and Information (Stanford University)
Centro Internazionale di Studi Bruniani (Istituto Italiano per gli Studi Filosofici)
Computational Epistemology Lab (University of Waterloo)
Kennedy Institute of Ethics (Georgetown University)
Laboratory for Applied Logic (Brigham Young University)
Philosophy Documentation Center (Bowling Green State University)