L

Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

Theater Resources

Course pages:

Theater 151: Introduction to Theatrical Design.

Theater 121 Research Guide: Play Reading and Analysis (Prof. Jew)

Theater 362: Directing II (Prof. Martinez)

 

Finding One-Act plays in Annie, the library catalog:

Keyword: "One-Act Plays" --> leads to individual play titles and play collections
Subject:   "One-Act Plays" --> leads to subject headings (categories), i.e. "One-act plays - American"

Royalties Information:

Samuel French, Inc.

Dramatist Play Service

Broadway Play Publishing

 

 

Finding Journal Articles in databases:

Note: Consider both spellings of the word THEATER / THEATRE. Always search both.

Arts and Humanities Search. Index to journal articles, including theater.

Humanities Research Guide. Links to our catalog and databases covering the humanities.
Periodical Finder. List of journals, magazines, and newspapers available at the University Library. (help page)

Citation style guides and tools.In the Humanities, the most often used bibliographic citation styles are "Chicago/Turabian" and "MLA Style".

RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

Please note: links to sites that our library does not subscribe to
may be outdated. To find the correct URL, please search Google.

WEBSITES


REFERENCE BOOKS

In the Reference Room of Leyburn Library, under call numbers PR600s and PR700s, you will find excellent books with information on plays, playwrights, and theater history.

Online sources:

The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion

Performing Arts Encyclopedia  (Library of Congress)

Critical Survey of Drama. 7 vols. Rev. ed. Edited by Frank Magill. Salem Press, 1994. PR623 .C75 1994

Organized by author, but volume 7 has the following essays:
Dramatic Genres
Staging and Production

Medieval Drama
Elizabethan and Jacobean Drama
Restoration Drama
Eighteenth Century Drama
Nineteenth Century British Drama
Twentieth Century British Drama
American Drama
African-American Drama
Australian Drama
Canadian Drama
Irish Drama
West Indian Drama
English Language Opera
Musical Drama
Experimental Theater
Radio Drama
Television Drama
Acting Styles
Dramatic Terms and Movements

For searches on Theatre History in Annie, the online catalog, search: THEATER HISTORY (note spelling!)
ELECTRONIC JOURNALS

  • Performing Arts Journal. Covers theatre, dance, film, opera. Also video, installations, and photography. January 1996-present. 
  • Theatre Journal. Covers social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze texts and production. March 1996-present. 
  • Theatre Topics. Focuses on perfomance studies, dramaturgy, and theatre pedagogy. March 1996- . 

CITATION STYLES AND PLAGIARISM
Click here to find the citation style your professor recommends for writing notes and bibliographies. It also includes links to plagiarism information.