Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

Web Sites

2008 U.S. elections

There may be hundreds of Web sites which devote attention to coverage of the presidential election.  The sites listed below are highly-respected and reliable non-governmental sites which collect information on candidates, issues, schedules, financial data, etc.

Candidate Views  

Collections of statements of major Presidential candidates on a series of issues, such as climate change. Choose an issue and then, on the ensuing page, click on the "Open the index" link.  (Brookings Institution)

FactCheck.org

Non-partisan program funded by the Annenberg Foundation monitoring "the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases."

PolitiFact.com   

Another non-partisan truth-checking effort,"a project of the St. Petersburg Times and Congressional Quarterly to help you find the truth in the presidential campaign. Every day, reporters and researchers from the Times and CQ will analyze the candidates' speeches, TV ads and interviews and determine whether the claims are accurate." 

Campaign 2008      *NEW*

Extensive collection of candidate and party television ads. From the Political Communication Lab at Stanford University.

Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life    

This is a link to Pew Forum's "Religion and Politics 08" site, which includes profiles of candidates on religious issues.

Council on Foreign Relations 

Coverage of foreign policy-related issues in the campaign.  Includes debate and speech transcripts, opinion pieces, and specialized issue analyses of candidate positions, such as on Guantanamo.

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation

This Health08.org site provides coverage of "health care issues addressed by the presidential candidates."

Center for Responsive Politics -- Open Secrets

The CRP provides Opensecrets.org, an easy-to-use database of money raised and spent by political parties, candidates, and groups. Includes detailed information on donors.   (Information comes from the U.S. Federal Election Commission.)

Political Futures: Betting on the Election    

The online magazine Slate provides coverage of the Iowa Electronic Markets and other political prediction markets.  Read the opening page for an explanation of these continuously updated predictive tools.  At the bottom of the page is a link to coverage of Democratic candidates.

Election 2008  

Eminently useful -- and extensive -- collection from Vanderbilt University.

Elections 2008  

This University of Michigan site is one of the largest collections of election-related Web sites.

Democracy in Action -- Race for the White House, 2008

Well-organized site, maintained by George Washington University. Includes features on Iowa, New Hampshire, and links to candidates' -- and "prospective" candidates' -- Web sites.

Project Vote Smart

Highly-respected non-partisan site provides an excellent collection of information on the 2008 election campaign, including information on each candidate and state presidential primary dates.

TechPresident.com 

Award-winning "data-rich group blog that is breaking investigative stories, collecting voter generated content, and charting the metrics of a net-centric presidential campaign."

Commission on Presidential Debates

Official site of organization responsible for quadrennial debates. Site includes transcripts and video of past debates.

[back to Research Guide home]