Summer Scholars
Premedical Studies & Science and Public Policy
Finding Articles
To find magazine articles, journal articles, and newspaper articles, use the
Online Databases. You
may have never used a database before, but they work the same way an Internet
search engine (like Google) does. The trick is to use a database that is
appropriate for your topic. See the recommendations below.
Locating the Article
Many times, you will be able to read the full article right on the screen
when you do your database search. This is what librarians call "full
text".
Sometimes, you will have to look for the article elsewhere. Here's how:
- Check for a WebBridge button
.
Click on this to see if W&L has the article available in full text in
another database. A window will pop up and direct you to the
appropriate source. (For help using WebBridge, click
here.)
- If WebBridge does not identify a source for you, try the
Periodical Finder.
Simply type the title of the periodical (NOT the title of the article) in
the search box, and the Periodical Finder will tell you where you can find
that journal full text. (For help using the Periodical Finder, click
here.)
- If the Periodical Finder does not identify a source, then your last
resort is to search the library catalog,
Annie. Select "Title" and enter the title of the periodical.
Again, do NOT enter the title of the article.
Recommended Databases
Magazine Articles
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- ProQuest Research
Library
Journal Articles
- Web of Science
- Scopus
- ScienceDirect
Newspaper Articles
- LexisNexis Academic
- Newsbank Access World
News
- New York Times
Archive
- Washington Post
Archive